Landmarks ‘In Spite Of It All’ – Track Three: Limb From Limb

Background:
I was just messing around on my guitar while at home one day, trying to figure out how to play ‘Black Me Out‘ by Against Me, when I came up with the riff for this song. I recorded it on my phone and sent it to the rest of the guys. They seemed to like it and, by the time our next band practice came around, Brad had already written some cool lyrics for it! It’s such a simple riff, in two ‘phrases’ (I think that’s the right word for it…) that each repeat three times, with a nice chord at the end. I’m proud of it. Matt Heap, our producer at Suff Studios, let me record it on his beautiful Fender Jaguar, too, which is why the tone is so warm.

Lyrics:
We felt the tension cutting deeper, but we tried to ride it out,
I wanted my thoughts to be clearer, so I went and wrote them down.
You expressed, with hesitance, the things that you had on your chest,
I could sense you repressed the things you couldn’t lay to rest.

Tear me limb from limb, I wanna feel your skin on mine.
Drag me down again, you still weigh heavy on my mind.

Guitar Tab: [Coming Soon!]

Leave a comment...

