Blink-182 ‘Bored To Death’ – (Over)Analysis!

Blink-182 returns!

Blink-182 released their first new song in around 4 years today and I couldn’t have been more excited to binge-listen to it when I woke up this morning. It’s now 10am and I must have heard it over 20 times already today. Needless to say, I am a fan. There are so many things I love already about this track and I’m going to tell them all to you right now, in excruciating detail. Enjoy.

 

 

Intro!

I didn’t know what to expect from this new blink song before I’d heard it. With it being the first blink song without Tom in the band and with Matt Skiba as his replacement, would it be completely different to everything we’d heard so far? Would it be a return to their roots? Would it be Alkaline Trio? Would it work? The first few seconds of the song answered all of these questions for me (respectively: ‘Yes and no’, ‘yes and no’, ‘no’, ‘yes’). Travis rhythm with the phaser effect at the beginning of the track is unmistakeably reminiscent of ‘Feeling This’, which itself was a song that the band chose as a first single to bring them back after a lengthy hiatus, and proved the ‘comeback’ to be a massive success. The first few seconds of the song instantly say to me “Don’t worry, you’re in safe hands. We know what a ‘good blink-182 song’ sounds like, too.”

Then comes the moment we’ve all been waiting for – the moment we first here Matt Skiba on an official blink-182 recording… and it’s amazing. The riff that he comes in with at the start of the track fits right in with that classic blink style that we know and love, and instantly conjures up thoughts of the intro to ‘Adam’s Song’ or ‘Stay Together For The Kids’.

Verse One!

Mark’s verse is just classic Mark. Symbolic lyrics and a catchy-but-simple vocal melody. If any part of the song could be likened to +44, it would be the vocal melody of the verses, I think. There are some fantastic vocal harmonies in that pre-chorus!

Chorus!

This is such a great chorus that I can already picture screaming my lungs out to at a gig (hopefully a gig in the near future, if they tour Europe/UK!). If there is a part in another song that emotes ‘fist air punching’ as much as the line “SAVE! YOUR! BREATH!” does, I haven’t heard it. Also, the last line of the chorus, “Life is too short to last long”, I originally thought was just a bit of a clunky arrangement of words to fit the rhyme scheme (and was willing to overlook due to me being a blinded-by-love blink fan) but have since discovered that it’s almost certainly a reference to the last line of the first verse of ‘Zulu’, a very early blink song! The line in THAT song goes like this:

I’m feeling what I want to feel,
I’m saying what I’ve said all along,
Because I know the things that are important to me,
Because life is too short to belong.

Second Verse!

Matt! Matt is singing in a blink song! His voice really fits in well, too. It’s different from Tom’s in that it’s a grown man’s singing voice. It’s notably not as different from Mark’s voice as Tom’s voice is. I think his voice is going to work so well with Mark’s on the rest of this album. Similar to how the timbre of Dave Grohl’s voice just works well with Kurt Cobain’s voice as a harmony in ‘In Bloom’ (and, probably, other Nirvana songs…)

Breakdown!

This is my favourite part of the song! Firstly, we have the my favourite couple of lines in the song:

I think I met her at the minute that the rhythm was set down,
I said “I’m sorry, I’m a bit of a letdown.”

And then, under the catchy “And we’ll go over and over and over” bit, we’re treated to a classic EOTS-era blink up-and-down major picking riff! In a guitar tone that is very, well, suitable. The last couple of blink albums have had unusual and, frankly, unnecessary experimental guitar tones and I’m glad to hear them get back to basics. They’re letting their songwriting skill speak itself, rather than dressing it up in fancy tones.

Outro!

What an incredible drum fill in that outro! Can’t get enough of it!

blink

Lyrics!

[Verse 1: Mark Hoppus]
There’s an echo pulling out the meaning
Rescuing a nightmare from a dream
The voices in my head are always screaming
That none of this means anything to me

[Pre-Chorus: Mark Hoppus]
And it’s a long way back from seventeen
The whispers turn into a scream
And I’m not coming home

[Chorus: Matt Skiba + Mark Hoppus]
Save your breath, I’m nearly
Bored to death and fading fast
Life is too short to last long
Back on earth I’m broken
Lost and cold and fading fast
Life is too short to last long

[Verse 2: Matt Skiba]
There’s a stranger staring at the ceiling
Rescuing a tiger from a tree
The pictures in her head are always dreaming
Each of them means everything to me

[Pre-Chorus: Matt Skiba]
And it’s a long way back from seventeen
The whispers turn into a scream
And I’m not coming home

[Chorus: Mark Hoppus]
Save your breath, I’m nearly
Bored to death and fading fast
Life is too short to last long
Back on earth I’m broken
Lost and cold and fading fast
Life is too short to last long

[Bridge: Mark Hoppus]
I think I met her at the minute that the rhythm was set down
I said I’m sorry I’m a bit of a let down
But all my friends are daring me to come over
So I come over and over and over

So let me buy you a drink
And we’ll pretend that you think
That I’m the man of your dreams
Come to life in a dive bar
And we’ll go over and over and over
And we’ll go over and over and over
And we’ll go over and over and over
And we’ll go over and over and over

[Chorus: Mark Hoppus]
Save your breath, I’m nearly
Bored to death and fading fast
Life is too short to last long
Back on earth I’m broken
Lost and cold and fading fast
Life is too short to last long

[Outro: Matt Skiba]
Oh oh, oh oh
Oh oh, oh oh…

BLINK2

The album was announced alongside the lead single, “Bored to Death”, on Los Angeles radio station KROQ on April 27, 2016. Its release date will be 1st July 2016, which coincides with the 182nd day of the year.

Leave a comment...

