Homage Overkill – The Dark Knight Returns

The more exposure I allow myself to the quicksand-like habit of reading Comic Books, the more and more I begin to notice the homages that modern comic book writers and artists pay to some classic stories and art.

So, to continue my trend of posting all the comic book homages I can find to some classic books, here is the collection of covers that I have collated that pay homage to (or just outright mock!) the cover of Frank Miller’s ‘The Dark Knight Returns’.

orig

This book was and still is one of the defining stories in the history of Batman comics. I’m sure you’ve already read it, so I probably don’t need to tell you that it’s an incredibly well-written, -drawn and -presented story of an older Batman who is forced out of retirement to deal with a developing threat to Gotham. It also includes my all-time favourite panel in any comic book I’ve read! (Which can be found in the middle of this book’s famous battle between Batman and Superman…)

The book was released in four issues. Most of the ‘homages’ I found were referencing the cover of the first – and most iconic – cover. There were a couple that I found which reference the second and fourth issues too, so I’ve added those in at the end! Unfortunately I couldn’t find any for the third issue, although I’m sure there are some out there somewhere.

If you know of any other homages to this book, let me know in the comments!

You can find my other lists of Comic Book Homages here:
Amazing Fantasy #15
Action Comics #1
Crisis On Infinite Earths #7

One comment

Leave a comment...

