‘The Big Smoke’ – The Colour Coded

I wrote this song about 4 or 5 years ago about a guy who I used to hate, because of a girl I used to like!

This guy was loud, obnoxious and abrasive and he’d always try and belittle me in front of this girl we both liked, because he knew that she liked me. He’d lie about things a lot, just to mess with me. He’d lie to the point where he’d make something up about me and tell my friends how horrible I’d been, mainly so that he’d be ‘accepted as one of the group’ and I’d be shunned as an outcast. It was childish and it was rough. I think he’s the only person I’ve ever truly hated.

300x300

I really do need to make a new ‘band image’. I’ve had this one for years now. I mean, is that… Times New Roman?!?

I didn’t really know how to handle the situation. Some of my friends liked this guy, others not so much. I didn’t know whether or not people were actually believing the things he was saying about me. So, being the non-confrontational type that I am, I sat in my room and wrote a song about him (and her). I only recently found the recording of this song, stored on the memory card of my digital recorder. I uploaded it to SoundCloud yesterday, so you can listen to it here if you like!

In the end, it was a pretty unanimous decision that people disliked this guy. Not just because of what happened between me and him either. He was just a bit of a crap person really. Anyway, he has since moved down to London and we’re all happier for it!

P.S. 10 points if you can spot the reference to the film/book ‘Matilda’.
P.P.S. The line “Max says it best, but I’ll give it my best shot” is referring to Max Bemis of Say Anything, particularly the scathing lyrics of the song ‘You’re The Wanker, If Anyone Is’.
P.P.P.S. This is the first time I’ve used a harmonica in a song!

Lyrics:

There comes a time in every scientist’s life
When he’s part of the solution and he faces evolution.
And I’m tangled in her charm and sweet pollution
But the man that I’d die not to be is all that she sees.

We should be on the same team.
We’ve found our way around the North West bar-scene,
But there’s no way that I could ever see you as more than a drop in the sea.

Mrs D, Mrs I, Mrs F-F-I-C-U-L-T-Y,
She’s the reason that we fight.
Mrs S, Mrs U, Mrs B-T-L-E-T-Y, she knew,
I couldn’t care less about you!

She’s the sweetness in our biting teeth,
And she’s feeling under pressure as we both try and impress her.
I know it’s childish, kid, but we both just can’t undress her,
And besides there’s a standard she keeps, and you’re way below me.

So man, I’ll explain it slowly:
You’re in the Conference and she’s playing in the Premier League.
So take a look at what you can’t achieve, then regress and stop messing with me.

Mrs D, Mrs I, Mrs F-F-I-C-U-L-T-Y,
She’s the reason that we fight.
Mrs S, Mrs U, Mrs B-T-L-E-T-Y, she knew,
I couldn’t care less about you!

And Max says it best, but I’ll give it my best shot:
You’re nothing more than dirt that I wouldn’t waste my shoes to step on (to step on…)
What better qualities do you possess than a simple lack of common sense?
Let’s wait and see if you can turn my friends against me.
Mr Idiocy,
And Miss Difficulty,
Are out to get me,
And why can’t I see that Miss Difficulty has made me Mr Family-Tree?

Mrs D, Mrs I, Mrs F-F-I-C-U-L-T-Y,
She’s the reason that we fight.
Mrs S, Mrs U, Mrs B-T-L-E-T-Y, she knew,
I couldn’t care less about you!
Mrs D, Mrs I, Mrs F-F-I-C-U-L-T-Y,
She’s the reason that we fight.
Mrs S, Mrs U, Mrs B-T-L-E-T-Y, she knew,
I couldn’t care less about you…

Leave a comment...

