Top 10 Favourite Los Campesinos! Songs (So Far!)

Los Campesinos! are one of my favourite bands and I finally got to go and see them live in 2013! It was SO GOOD. So, as I am wont to do, I’ve compiled a list of my top 10 LC! songs (so far)! And of course you can’t talk about LC songs without talking about their amazing lyrics, so there’s plenty of that kinda chat in this list as well…

Ross Kempesinos!

Ross Kempesinos!

 

10. A Heat Rash In The Shape Of The Show Me State; Or, Letters From Me To Charlotte
Favourite Lyrics:
“Her body barely visible as bleach white as the bedsheets. As stiff as starched, Only perceptible as the middle was still branded with a heat rash, In the perfect shape of the Show Me State.”

9. Coda: A Burn Scar In The Shape Of The Sooner State
Favourite Lyrics:
“I can’t believe I chose the mountains every time you chose the sea.”

8. We Are Beautiful, We Are Doomed
Favourite Lyrics:
“Charlotte says “It’s more constructive than the one in Canada, When you got drunk, ate loads of crisps And threw up by a football pitch.” I know it is, And really that’s what worries me, I feel like I should hurt.”

7. Documented Minor Emotional Breakdown #1
Favourite Lyrics:
“I restored your mother’s faith in men whilst boring you to death”

6. By Your Hand
Favourite Lyrics:
“And I’ve been dangling in limbo, barely keeping my cool. It’s like I’m snookered between the back cushion and touching the 8 ball. I keep replaying my turn, until your patience is shot, You peel your white gloves off seductively before you re-spot. Your fingertips leave marks and graze, I lay you down atop the baize”

5. Straight In At 101
Favourite Lyrics:
“I phone my friends and family to gather round the television; The talking heads count down the most heart-wrenching break ups of all time. Imagine the great sense of waste, The indignity, the embarrassment, When not a single one of that whole century was mine.”

4. My Year In Lists
Favourite Lyrics:
“I cherish with fondness the day (before) I met you”

3. What Death Leaves Behind
Favourite Lyrics:
“Within a waking dream I finally made my heel turn, lived life as Super 8 when you were promised Hilton”

2. The Sea Is A Good Place To Think About The Future
Favourite Lyrics:
“A good place to look to the future is when you are sat at the sea, with the salt up to your ankles and a view of the end of the pier, you may look down at your model’s feet and wish that you’d just float away, and the weather here is overcast and the sea is the same shade of grey, so the landscape before you looks just like the edge of the world, but to the left side and the right side, either way is a crazy golf course. The sea is a good place to think of the future.”

1. In Medias Res
It was hard to pick a favourite but I think this one just about gets the top spot for me. ‘In Media Res’ is a Latin term meaning ‘in the midst’ and is the term that we use to describe stories that start in the middle, dropping the reader straight into the action, so I can see why they picked that for the title of the first track on the album! This song gets you straight into what LC are all about, with one line that both sums them up stylistically and is also a complete detraction from the somewhat self-centered biographical nature of the lyrics from their previous albums: “Let’s talk about you for a minute.”
The trumpet riff that flares up two thirds of the way through is incredible, and the preposition that we are left with in the last line is both haunting and thought provoking: “If you were given the option of dying painlessly in peace at 45, but with a lover at your side, after a full and happy life. Is this something that would interest you? Would this interest you at all?”

 

Honorable Mentions:
The International TweeXCore Underground
Death To Los Campesinos!
You! Me! Dancing!
Sweet Dreams, Sweet Cheeks
Ways To Make It Through The Wall
Miserabilia
There Are Listed Buildings
Romance Is Boring
Avocado, Baby

Leave a comment...

