Awesome Lyrics / Over-Analysis: ‘I Just Want To Sell Out My Funeral’ by The Wonder Years

“‘Cause I’m sick of seeing ghosts and I know how it’s all gonna end;
There’s no triumph waiting, there’s no sunset to ride off in.
We all wanna be great men and there’s nothing romantic about it.
I just wanna know that I did all I could with what I was given.”

The_Greatest_Generation_The_Wonder_Years_Album_Cover
These lines are from the end of the last song on The Wonder Years’ 2013 album ‘The Greatest Generation’. An amazing song on an amazing album by an amazing band.
I don’t think I’ve ever heard more heart-felt, pertinent lines in a pop-punk song. It’s sung with such amazing, raw emotion as well.It seems to be about his frustration with people thinking it’s OK to not try, and to waste their lives because they think there’s this afterlife waiting for them where everything will be great.

I especially like the line ‘We all wanna be great men and there’s nothing romantic about it.’ – I completely agree with this. Everyone should want to be a ‘great man’ (or woman) and that shouldn’t be anything special. We should all strive to be the best versions of ourselves that we can be.

As far as Dan ‘Soupy’ Campbell (Singer, Lyricist) is concerned, if he dies knowing that he did as much as he could with his life, he’ll die happy. Even the name of the song shows that he just wants to make an impact with the hand that he was dealt in life. He wants his life to have had a point.

Whatever you take away from these lines, there’s no denying that this band has produced some of the best music that the genre has to offer. Without a doubt one of the most important pop-punk bands, and they’re still (relatively) new!

…and people think pop-punk is just about fizzy drinks, childhood and getting rejected by girls.

Leave a comment...

