On My Excitement For Star Wars Episode VII!

I’ve been thinking a lot recently about the upcoming Star Wars film. I’m obviously super happy and excited that they are making another film! I’m also really apprehensive, because Star Wars has let me down in the past. So I’ve settled on this idea: “It will probably really, really great and if not, it probably won’t be as bad as the prequels.”

Photoshopped, but so exciting.

Photoshopped Hamill, but still so exciting.

Those Star Wars Prequel movies are widely accepted as being bad films, even by the Star Wars community itself, and they have been reviewed to death. In particular, the incredibly in-depth (and, at times, disturbing) reviews by Red Letter Media of those three films skilfully analyse everything that went wrong in them.

And so, In some ways, JJ Abrams has the easiest job in writing the new Star Wars film. He has, in effect, an inexhaustible list of what the film should and should not be and who should and shouldn’t be in it. There is even a massively expansive ‘extended universe’ full of Star Wars stories that could serve as the starting point to a new film.

The obvious downside is that it will be critiqued to death. I mean, it might just be the case that it ends up being a bad movie. But it also might be a good movie but because everyone has such high expectations and pretty much every single person in the world will be seeing this movie, it might suffer from criticism that is unfair and harsh, especially as the original Star Wars trilogy did so well and is thought of so fondly.

Personally, I am really happy that JJ Abrams is leading the project. I loved what he did with Star Trek. It was a really thoroughly decent movie. Not the best thing ever, but that’s not what I wanted from it. And the same goes with Star Wars. I’m not expecting it to be as good as ‘New Hope’ or ‘Empire’, I just want it to be a thoroughly good piece of film that doesn’t let me down and isn’t an embarrassment that focuses on the details of interstellar trade laws and regulations. I don’t think that’s too much to ask and I have faith that this film will be great!

Plus, I think it’s absolutely incredible that they have managed to get Mark Hamill, Harrison Ford and Carrie Fisher all on board for the upcoming film. Especially Hamill who has famously, and understandably, wanted to move on from Star Wars in the decades since he finished filming! I don’t think they would have bribed or bullied him into it (although I’m sure he’s getting paid a fortune, haha), instead I like to think that he sees this as a bookend, to wrap up his involvement with Star Wars. All three of these actors are getting on a bit, so I can’t wait to see how much and in what ways their characters have developed since we left them at the end of ‘Jedi’, and their involvement in the plot of the new film.

As far as the plot of the new film goes, I don’t mind at all! I think I’d rather see some new characters, rather than focussing completely on the characters from the other films, but other than that, I am open and willing to be taken in to another story that happened a long time ago in a galaxy far, far away…

Oh god, I cannot wait for that moment when I’m sat in the cinema at the start of the film and hear the first notes of that iconic John Williams music…

I’m so excited to see this film!

Leave a comment...

