On Lostprophets

If you are a fan of rock music, you have no doubt heard the horrible and upsetting news about Lostprophets singer Ian Watkins. The news came as a shock to fans and has left me feeling a mixture of emotions. 
I’ve been a fan of the band for years. I remember the first time I heard a Lostprophets song – On the Kerrang TV show, ‘Shinobi Vs Dragon Ninja’ came on and it was exactly the kind of music that I wanted to hear. I was hooked and continued to follow the band to this day. I bought (with actual money, not downloaded!) all the albums and went to the shows. The music was great – That ‘Start Something’ album was perfect and is to this day one of those albums that I can listen to from start to finish and enjoy every moment. The first 3 albums were all fantastic. (The quality went downhill on those last two albums, but we don’t talk about that…)

But my problem is that I can’t listen to the music any more. I just feel guilty for some reason. As if I’m supporting the horrible actions of this one man. And I feel even worse for idolising this man as I was growing up. I remember seeing Lostprophets at the MEN Arena in Manchester. The show was awesome – it started with a huge curtain covering the stage with each of the band’s silhouettes projected onto the fabric, and the curtain dropped down half way through the first track as the chorus kicked in. It was fantastic. I remember thinking at the time how great a frontman Ian Watkins was. He was a brilliant singer, he has style and he was funny too, and all in front of an arena-sized crowd. It was really impressive. No wonder I looked up to him. And so now, for this person to have done something so vile, it has left me feeling betrayed and angry.

I also feel a sadness that the great music that this band has produced in the past will now be forever tainted. I know that the charges he has been given only range over the past six months, and the albums in question were recorded years before that, but the link will unfortunately always be there in my mind. I suppose, in all seriousness, that it’s the same reason no one listens to Gary Glitter’s music any more. He may not have been the best recording artist in the world but the music that he made might be a lot more popular today if he had been a normal law-abiding citizen.

So it’s a shame that the band that helped to shape my taste in rock music will never be the same again. I am left wiht a feeling of sadness to wards the loss of great talent, A feeling of guilt in listening to their music today, and above all a feeling of anger towards the man who could do something so horrible.

There is a caveat though. The band say (and I for one wholeheartedly believe them) that they never knew about Ian Watkins and what he had been up to. This leaves me hope that they will continue to make music in some form in the future. They have some great talent and I don’t want to see it go to waste. In particular I am a fan of the playing-style of the guitarists and would like to hear their playing some more. If the band continue on together, and I hope they do, I would hope that the singer they choose as a replacement is someone who has a completely different style to Ian Watkins, rather than a person doing his best Lostprophets impression. If they do get someone new and different, perhaps a new band name would also help. This would put a bookend to Lostprophets, and allowing us all to move on and enjoy their music without feeling any residual guilt or embarrassment.

Nic’s Top Five Lostprophets Songs:
  1.  Last Summer
  2. The Fake Sound Of Progress
  3. A Town Called Hypocrisy
  4. Burn Burn
  5. Can’t Catch Tomorrow
Leave a comment...

